Navion CFI's
 Navion Society Home
 Membership Information
 Members Only
 Photo Gallery
 History
 Classified Ads
 Calendar
 Chapter Information
 Links
 Contact Us
 Navion CFI's

CERTIFIED FLIGHT INSTRUCTORS

Before issuing coverage, most insurance companies are requiring dual in a Navion from a certified flight instructor with experience flying Navions.

The American Navion Society does not presently employ or recommend flight instructors, however, following is a list of persons who have indicated they have experience flying Navions and are willing to provide flight instruction. 

This list will be updated periodically, so if you wish to be included please e-mail your name, phone number, and address or general area to rjnavion@ptsi.net

 

ALABAMA

Joel E. Lancaster; Airplane & Helicopeter AGI, IGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, ATP. Enterprise, AL; ph: 334-464-1214; email: joellancaster14@gmail.com.Based at Enterprise Municipal (KEDN)

ALASKA

Forest Kirst, CFI, Fairbanks, AK, Ph: 907-687-5011. Located at Fairbanks International

Philip Tremarco, CFII, MEI, ATP, Anchorage, AK Ph: 907-258-1758

CALIFORNIA

Yves Bajulaz, CFII, ABC Airsports, Santa Ynez, CA Ph:  805-688-0343 flying@bajulaz.com

Ryan Douthitt, CFI, IA; ElCentro, CA; Ph: 760-791-8807 rdtwentyinch@yahoo.com

Mike Gollhofer, CFI, CFII, A&P; Oceanside, CA 92054; Cell: 650-219-7122; Email: c180mike@hotmail.com

Fred Holden,  CFI, 5017 Blue Spruce Ct., Stockton, CA 95207 Ph: 209-952-9426

John Kelleher, CFII, Visalia, CA: Phone: 559-308-3202 - Navion experienced 30 hours. Based in Visalia

Robert Stambovsky, Lancaster, CA; CFI, CFII, MEI, ATP, 5000 hrs TT, 1000 hrs instruction given (30 IP in Navion), 1500 in T-34, 50 in MG-15 and L-29 jets, 661-816-5101 stambo@earthlink.net

Rick Stockton  ATP, CFI  A & H, instrument on both, A&P, IA,  Long Beach,  CA   Ph:  562-924-4066  Ph:  562-756-0766Airbearfed@bigfoot.com

COLORADO

Ken Buckspan,  CFII, ASMEL, Colorado Front Range Area  Ph:  303-939-8693  Buckspan@aol.com

FLORIDA

Roger Dick,  CFI, CFII, MEI, GRII, Twin & Single Navion,  Coral Gables, FL  Ph: 305-665-1949   r1929d@aol.com

Rick L. Ferrin,  CFI, Orlando, FL    Ph: 407- 957-0563, Cell 407-908-5056, email: captferrin@aol.com

Herbert G. Gelhardt,III, IP, Boca Raton, FL Ph: 561-488-6369, email: iaiipc@aol.com

Michael D. Robinson, CFI, CFII, MEI, Jacksonville, FL Ph: 912-547-5477; pilot_mike.robinson@yahoo.com

Michael S. Turner, ATP/CFII ME, 1,000 hrs Ryan, NA & Rangemaster; Fort Myer; 239-590-5607 (cell); 239-543-8008 (hm); IFlyItAll@aol.com

GEORGIA

Jim Waldron, CFI, St. Simons, GA  912-268-4313 YDK164@aol.com

Cliff McSpadden, CFI, Based at 18 A, Franklin Co. Airport, Canon, GA 706-245-8215 or 706-308-5443

James Herrington, CFI, CFII, MEI, Based at TBR, Statesboro, GA, 912-536-3737 or 912-865-5875I

ILLINOIS

Mac McLaughlin,  CFI,  EMTOO,   Peoria, IL  Ph:  309-691-5094

Dave Chrest, CFI, (over 100 hrs in Navions), DuPage Airport. PH: 847-515-3368;

INDIANA

Bill Prifogle, CFII, Clark Co. Airport, Jefferson, IN Ph: 812-923-1270    PLANETALK@aol.com

Bob Schmelz, CFII, Fort Wayne, IN. Ph.: 260-489-6160, E-mail: cfii4sel@aol.com

IOWA

Dick Miller, CFI, Iowa City, IA Ph: 319-351-3023, Email: millerrn@ihs.com

KANSAS

Ron Schauble, ATP, CFII, Overland, KS   Ph: 913-696-0825   RWS35@kc.rr.com

KENTUCKY

Kenneth Figa, Goldseal CFI, CFII, MEI, IGI, Louisville, KY Ph: 502-417-5668 285nav@netzero.net

Doug Killingsworth, CFI, CFII, MEI, AGI, IGI, Richmond, KY 859-333-8469 poncho@ponchosgym.com

MARYLAND

 

David Frostbutter, CFII, Laurel Md., Ph: 301-776-6329 david.frostbutter@jhuapl.edu

John Albers, CFI, CFII, MEI, ATP, Leonardtown, MD 1000+ military instructing; 130+ in Navion A   johnalbers@me.com

MASSACHUSETTS

Craig Lesinski, CFII SEL/MEL,  Aerobatika, Mansfield, MA  Ph: 508 397 8775, aerobatika@aol.com, www.aerobatika.com

Mike Bratt, CFII SEL, Beverly, MA Ph: 978-979-6480, mbratt@freshairdetailing.com

MICHIGAN

Tom Hendren, CFII, MEI, SES, based at Drake Aviation, Pontiac. Ph: 810-229-6853; 810-542-0882; 248-666-3600 hendren2@netscape.net

Jim Norton, CFI, based at 24M near Grand Rapids, Ph: 616-678-5782, jjnorton@pathwaynet.com

Leo Burke, CFI, Southeast Michigan, based at PTK. Ph: 586-977-8876. lburke@usa.net

MISSISSIPPI

Bert Zeller,CFI, CFII, Meridian, MS Ph:  601-693-3364.  Cell: 601-917-6724  t2a4tst@comcast.net

MISSOURI

Ron Schauble, ATP, CFII,   Kansas City, MO   Ph:  913-696-0825   RWS35@kc.rr.com

Max Bradley, CFI, West Plains, MO. Ph: 417-257-7371, maxtb@hotmail.com

Charles Mitchell Kansas City, MO ATP multi, COM Single, CFI, CFII, MEI, agi/igi. Gold Seal CFI,
        816-547-5151, Charlie@kccfi.com

MINNESOTA

Paul Thomas   CFI, AIM, 1200 hrs Navion,  Shoreview, MN  Ph:  612-804-9792   navionpaul@gmail.com

MONTANA

Donn T. Borden CFI, CFII, Ronan, MT Ph: 406-241-5322  DTBorden@aol.com

NEBRASKA

Richard (Dick) Trail   ATP, CFII, Multi Engine,   201 W M Street, McCook, NE 69001

NEW JERSEY

Dave Sutton, ATP, CFII-MI, FAA Pilot Examiner, 8 Knollwood Rd., Hackettstown, NJ 07840, 908-752-1853

NEW MEXICO

NEW YORK

Rollie Zavada, CFII,  Pittsford,  NY  Ph:  585-248-2162 zavadarc@netacc.net

Andrew Weckerle, CFI, CFII, MEI, AGI, IGI, Long Island, NY 516-749-6564

Joe Rizzo, CFI-AI & G,  Binghamton, NY  Ph:  607-770-9541,   JoeVRizzo@aol.com

Ed Kennedy, CFI, CFII, MEI; Granville, NY ekennedy38@yahoo.com (summers only)

NORTH CAROLINA

Allen Cook, CFI, CFII, MEI, ATP, A&P Ph: 859-466-7359, poncho@ponchosgym.com (also available in SC)

NORTH DAKOTA

Jim Christianson, CFII, Bottineau, ND Ph: 701-228-3987

OHIO

Woody McIntyre, CFI, CFII, Deleware, OH (DLZ)   Ph: 740-881-4281

OKLAHOMA

George Durning,  CFI,  Oklahoma City, OK   Ph:  405-954-7995  george_ctr_Durning@mmacmail.jccbi.gov

OREGON

Ryan Smith, CFI, 700 hrs Navion time, Portland, OR 503-880-9138

PENNSYLVANIA

John Weckerle,  ATP  SMEL CFII, 717-277-5900 Email: navionwr@aol.com

RHODE ISLAND

Dave Sutton, ATP, CFII-MI, FAA Pilot Examiner, Salt Pond Rd., Wakefield, RI dsutton@redstaraviation.org or www.redstaraviation.org

SOUTH CAROLINA

Allen Cook, CFI, CFII, MEI, ATP, A&P, Ph. 859-466-7359 poncho@ponchosgym.com (also available in NC)

TENNESSEE

Ed Kennedy, CFI, CFII, MEI, Ph: 423-284-6343 ekennedy38@yahoo.com (winters only)

TEXAS

Jerry "J.D." Deemer, ATP, CFI (Over 400 hrs in Navions) USAF/Airline trained. Grandbury, TX (817) 579-1790 jerrydeemer@ev1.net

Ike Wiley,  CFI,  Leander, TX   Ph:  512-818-6393    ikewiley@gmail.com

Harvey G. Putsche, CFI/CFII, (over 200 hrs in Navion) The Woodlands, TX (near KDWH or KCXO) 713-385-4776, hputsche@comcast.net

Steve Rayburn,   CFI,  Baytown, TX   Ph:  409-866-6221; navion64r@hotmail.com

Don Robinson, CFII, Dallas, TX   Ph: 214-688-4044   FAX 214-688-4048   donrobinson@rmgtexas.com

UTAH

David Chandler, CFI/CFII, Salt Lake City, UT Ph: 801-518-0597 dchandler1@yahoo.com

VIRGINIA

Bret Magee, 250 hours of instruction in Navions, Newport News, VA 757-814-5267 bam.pilot@gmail.com

Carter Bunch, CFI, White Hawk Aviation, 12517 Beverly Ford Rd, Brandy Station, VA (Culpeper Regional Airport-CJR), Ph: 540-727-8400

Richard Dykes, CFII/MEI, Culpepper, VA; 540-270-7954; 2,000+ in Navion over 6,000 total.

Stan Hester, CFI/CFII, Leesburg, VA (KJYO) 5,000 hrs & 2,000 hrsinstructing; 601-513-5983; stan.d.hester@gmail.com

Tony Russell,   CFI SE/ME,  (Single & Riley Temco twin Navion)  Virginia Beach, VA  Ph: 757-422-9089  navion447@cox.net

WASHINGTON

Dale Sinnott, ATP: Multi engine CFI, CFII; 11207 176th Ave. SE Renton, WA Ph: 206-979-8316; Cell: 425-497-2654 dale_sinnott@hotmail.com

Mark Smith, ATP/CFII/MEI,  110 Airport Way Blakely Island, WA 98222   Ph:  360-375-6225 FAX:  360-375-6452 navionmark@rockisland.com

WYOMING

Mark McAfee, CFI, Casper, WY   Ph:307-267-5213 (cell); 307-472-4359 (flight school); 307-265-5375 (home)  gorgonc3@hotmail.com

Webmaster

Copyright © 2001 American Navion Society